Image from misha's Vineyard of the road running alone side the water and some mountains Image from misha's Vineyard of the road running alone side the water and some mountains
New Zealand Sustainability: Challenging the Myths Around Food Miles

New Zealand Sustainability: Challenging the Myths Around Food Miles

A Webinar with Harpers

A Harpers webinar exploring the hot topic of how food miles can be offset by sustainable activities in the vineyard.

On 9th February 2021, New Zealand Winegrowers and Harpers will be hosting a webinar to discuss sustainable winemaking from vineyard practices through to production.

The panel of key industry figures will share their thoughts and experience gained from across various sectors of the wine trade to discuss the huge effort made to produce wine in an environmentally and ethically sustainable way, the impact relative to the whole supply chain, and the importance within the minds of consumers.

The New Zealand wine industry is set to achieve net-zero emissions ahead of a 2050 regulatory deadline, and highly efficient sea-shipping delivers just one-fifth of the emissions of transport by road.

This webinar examines how the country’s world-leading sustainable production practices overwhelmingly offset the environmental footprint of transportation, upending common misconceptions surrounding food miles from such a distant territory, making New Zealand one of the cleanest and greenest sources of wine for global buyers.

DATE: Tuesday 9th February

TIME: LIVE 4.30pm UK  / 11.30am EDT / 8.30am PDT / Wednesday 10th 5.30 AM NZ

Information for registering will be available soon.

Back to top