

Trophies announced for the inaugural New Zealand Wine of the Year™ Awards

The varietal and regional trophies have been announced for the inaugural New Zealand Wine of the Year™ Awards.

Thirteen varietal trophies have been awarded, with the trophies being scooped up throughout Marlborough, Hawke's Bay and Central Otago.

Seven regional trophies were awarded to the top wines from Hawke's Bay, Gisborne, Wellington Wine Country, Marlborough, Nelson, Canterbury and Central Otago. The refreshed competition has included the regional trophies as a new category, with a focus on regionality and celebrating New Zealand wine's distinctive winegrowing regions.

Chair of the New Zealand Wine of the Year[™] Awards Warren Gibson says he was extremely pleased to see a very strong link between region, variety and style in the trophy winners of this year's Awards.

"It seems to me that there is a definite strengthening in the expression of sense of place, strongly linked with region, grape variety and wine style. This cements to me that we have a positively evolving grape-growing and winemaking industry and shows the increased maturity of our industry in general," said Mr Gibson.

Gold medals and the resulting trophies were awarded to a broad range of the country's wine regions. Moreover, in what might be a first, Gibson said, "I believe all individual trophies for each variety and style were awarded to a region with this historically known strength. This is not only a positive sign for our very young winegrowing country but also a credit to the abilities of the judging panel in discriminating these qualities".

In analysing the regional trophies, the aromatic white wines and sparkling wine were strongly dominated by Marlborough, which also fought with Hawke's Bay to secure the Chardonnay bragging rights. Central Otago shone in the Rosé and Pinot Noir stakes while Hawke's Bay dominated the full-bodied red category.

Other individual highlights were achieved by the smaller wine regions with regional trophies being awarded for Pinot Noir in the Wellington and Nelson wine regions. Gisborne showed true to form with a gold medal and trophy for Chardonnay, and Canterbury's trophy went to a Rosé.

The final act will be the awarding of the eight major trophies for the New Zealand Wine of the Year™ Awards. These will be announced at the New Zealand Wine Awards dinner on Saturday 3 November and include - New Zealand Wine of the Year™ Champion (presented by O-I New Zealand), Best Single Vineyard White Wine, JF Hillebrand New Zealand Best Single Vineyard Red Wine, Label and Litho Limited Best Open White Wine, QuayConnect Best Open Red Wine, Best Organic White Wine, Best Organic Red Wine and Best Wine of Provenance.



For further information contact:

Angela Willis – Global Events Manager New Zealand Winegrowers

M: 021 552 071

E: angela@nzwine.com

Notes to editor:

The New Zealand Wine of the Year[™] Awards is the official national wine competition of the New Zealand wine industry, replacing the Air New Zealand Wine Awards and the Bragato Wine Awards, two of the industry's major wine competitions.

The New Zealand Wine Awards dinner will be held on Saturday 3 November at TSB Arena in Wellington. The evening will recognise the New Zealand Wine of the Year™ Awards winners, as well as other industry achievements including Young Viticulturist of the Year, Young Winemaker of the Year and the New Zealand Winegrowers Fellows for 2018.

More information on New Zealand Wine of the Year™ Awards can be found at https://www.nzwine.com/en/events/new-zealand-wine-of-the-year-awards/

VARIETAL TROPHIES

WineWorks Champion Sparkling Wine

Nautilus Cuvée Méthode Traditionnelle Marlborough NV

Riedel New Zealand Champion Gewürztraminer (Nick Nobilo Trophy)

Lawson's Dry Hills Gewürztraminer Marlborough 2016

Dish Magazine Champion Pinot Gris (Brother Cyprian trophy)

Misty Cove Wines Pinot Gris Marlborough 2018

Plant & Food Research Champion Riesling (Friedrich Wohnsiedler Trophy)

Wither Hills Riesling Marlborough 2018

Antipodes Water Company Champion Sauvignon Blanc (Spence Brothers Trophy)

Blind River Sauvignon Blanc Awatere Valley, Marlborough 2018



Guala Closures Champion Chardonnay (Bill Irwin Trophy)

Marisco Craft Series 'The Pioneer' Chardonnay Marlborough 2016

Champion Other White Wine

Misty Cove Wines Landmark Series Grüner Veltliner Marlborough 2018

Champion Sweet Wine

Auntsfield Busch Block Late Harvest Riesling Southern Valleys, Marlborough 2016

New World Champion Rosé

Archangel Lace Rosé Central Otago 2018

Fruitfed Supplies Champion Pinot Noir (Mike Wolter Memorial Trophy)

Maude Pinot Noir Central Otago 2017

Champion Merlot Cabernet and Blends (Tom McDonald Memorial Trophy)

Villa Maria Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon Merlot Gimblett Gravels, Hawke's Bay 2016

winejobsonline.com Champion Syrah (Alan Limmer Trophy)

Villa Maria Reserve Syrah Gimblett Gravels, Hawke's Bay 2016

Champion Other Red Styles

Church Road One Malbec Gimblett Gravels, Hawke's Bay 2016

REGIONAL TROPHIES

Best Wine - Hawke's Bay

Villa Maria Reserve Syrah Gimblett Gravels, Hawke's Bay 2016

Best Wine - Gisborne

Villa Maria Reserve Barrique Fermented Chardonnay Gisborne 2016



Best Wine - Wellington Wine Country

Craggy Range Pinot Noir Te Muna Road Vineyard Martinborough 2016

Best Wine - Marlborough

Marisco Craft Series 'The Pioneer' Chardonnay Marlborough 2016

Best Wine - Nelson

Falcon Ridge Estate Pinot Noir Nelson 2017

Best Wine - Canterbury

Waipara Hills Pinot Noir Rosé Waipara Valley 2018

Best Wine - Central Otago

Maude Pinot Noir Central Otago 2017